2018 Literary Contests


 1. AWARDS made only if contest fee of $20 enabling one to enter all contests unless otherwise instructed. (OUT-OF-STATE entrants are limited to Ten (10) contests), check or money order made payable to Arkansas Writers’ Conference and mailed on or before APRIL 20, 2018 to Ellen Withers, 1815 Columbia Drive, Conway, AR 72034 Must Include Contest Registration Form & entry fee.  Conference registration does not include this entry fee. 

  2. DEADLINE for postmarking manuscripts is April 20, 2018Entries destroyed two weeks after conference. AWC not responsible for manuscripts lost, delayed in mail, or received too late for judging.  Do not send SASE. No manuscript returned. No winners’ list mailed but will be posted on the website, www.arkansaswritersconference.org

  3.  Only one typed, unpublished manuscript can be entered in more than one contest. Double-space prose, single-space poetry. Use only 12-point font. Standard manuscript form as stated by www.whitecountycreativewriters.org  listed below. Meet all contest specifications including word, line, and page limit.

  4.  NO MANUSCRIPT MAY BE ENTERED IN MORE THAN ONE CONTEST.  No one may enter contest for which he/she is sponsor, chairman, or judge.  2017 AWC first place contest winners may not enter a contest this year if it is identical.  If contestants do not adhere to all rules, entries will be disqualified.

  5.  PUT CONTEST NUMBER AND NAME OF AWARD in upper left corner of each entry.  Do not put your name on any manuscript.   Do not staple.  Use paper clips. Attach a cover sheet to each entry with: (1) Number and name of contest; (2) Title of entry; (3) First line of entry; (4) Your name, phone number, and mailing address.


Formatting for Contests

1. Use a simple type style like Times Roman or Courier, 12 point preferred, on a letter quality printer.  DO NOT use fancy type faces or script styles.  The goal is to make the manuscript look professional and pleasant to read.

2.  Use white copy paper, 20 pound or better, 8-1/2 x 11 inches. NO onion skin, lined or colored stock.

3.  Follow contest rules for identification of manuscripts.  Name and address are usually not to appear on judges’ copy.  

4.  Double space all prose manuscripts.  Poetry may be single-spaced.  DO NOT justify right-hand margins.  Allow 1 to 1-1/2 inch margins all around.

5.  Drop down about half-way on the first page then center your title.  DO Not put your name below the title, unless the contest rules call for it.

6.  Start your text below the title indenting each paragraph 5 spaces.  DO NOT add extra space between paragraphs. 

7. Contests can vary on header requirements, but usually require the name of the contest to be placed in the upper left corner and the page number and word count should be placed in the upper right corner.  Check the rules for any specific instructions on this issue. The text should begin 3 or 4 spaces below this header.

8. Type on one side of paper only.  Paper clip the finished pages together - do not staple unless instructed to do so - and do not put the manuscript in a folder.






Enclosed is my $20 contest registration fee. I understand this allows me to enter as many contests as I choose (see contest list for restrictions).  This contest fee does not include the conference registration fee.




Address: __________________________________________________________________


City: ____________________________________________ Zip Code: ________________


Phone: _____________________ Email: _______________________________________


Mail this form by April 20th with check or money order made payable to NLAPW/AWC to:  Ellen Withers, 1815 Columbia Drive, Conway, AR 72034




Literary Contests



Cash Awards Vary.

1. Carl J Iannacone Memorial Award ($100/$60/$40) Comic Short Story. Subject:  Christmas In The Tropics. 1500 words max. Chair: Brenda Iannacone

2. WOW! Press Award. ($100/$60/$40) Oh, How I Wish I’d Followed my First Mind” Flash Memoir. Subject: A rear-view look at youthful Mistakes. 1000 wd. max. Chair: Janis F. Kearney

3. The Erdel Family Memorial Award. ($50/$30/$20) Murder mystery short story.  Investigate and solve the murder.  2500 words max. Chair: Ellen Withers.

4. Mistletoe Award. ($50/$30/$20) Short Story. Subject:  How Pets Fill A Home With Love in Times of Sorrow. 1500 words max.  Chair: Brenda Iannacone

5. Village Writers Club of Hot Springs Village Award. ($50/$30/$20) Fiction, Any Holiday Story, 1500 words max. Chair: HSV Writers Club

6.  Camille Lancaster Award. ($50/$30/$20) Subject: Fantasy or Realistic Fiction told from the POV of a ten-year old precocious female named Tweed.  500-1000 words. Chair: Millie Gore Lancaster.

7. Youth Prose, Subject: Adventure.  ($25/$15/$10) 2000 words. Open only to Arkansas residents, age 11-17Chair: Sara Gipson

8.  Del Garrett’s Gimme The Creeps. ($25/15/$10) Psychological Horror. Twilight Zone short story. 1500 words max.  Indicate if you agree to being published. (no extra pay)  Chair: Del Garrett

9.  Dilemma Award. ($25/15/$10)  Short Story depicting a Road Rage scenario and reaction.  1200 word max. Chair: Brenda Iannacone

10. True Story: Rescued Pet ($50/$30/$20) True Story of a Shelter Pet. 1200 word Maximum.  Humane Society Sponsor.  NLAPW Judge.

Contests 11-23 OPEN TO ALL. Cash Awards for contests 11-23 vary.

11. Lucille R. Longstreth Memorial Award. ($25/$15/$10) Sonnet, Subject: Favorite Color, 14 line limit. Chair: Barbara Longstreth Mulkey

12. David Goodgame Memorial Award ($100/$60/$40). THE GIFT I CHERISH. Poetry,  Childhood or Adulthood. 40 line limit. Chair: Rita Goodgame

13. Fiction Who-Dunnit Award. ($50/$30/$20). Short Mystery Story. The Case of the Missing Crime Motive. 1500 words. Chair: Brenda Iannacone

14. AR Pioneer Branch NLAPW Prose Award.($50/$30/$20) Humorous short story about daily habits of an author. 1200 words Chair:  Brenda Iannacone

15. AR Pioneer Branch NLAPW Poetry Award.($50/$30/$20) Free Verse. Any subject. 24 line limitChair: Brenda Iannacone

16. LaViness Award for Living Mystery, ($25/$15/$10) Mystery Short Story: Any subject. Not a murder mystery, No deaths allowed.  2500 words max. Chair: Renee LaViness

17. Scott Plantation Settlement Award. ($25/$15/$10)  Memoir. Featuring a One-Room Schoolhouse.  2500 word limit. www.scottconnections.org.  Chair: Sara Gipson

18. BEAR-LY BELIEVABLE ($25/$15/$10) Subject: Humorous Fantasy Short Story featuring an anthropomorphic bear, a lawn mower, & a lollipop. 2500 word limit.  Chair: Carol Hodges. For a brief critique, request on 1st page of story.

19Penpoint Writers Group Contest. ($25/$15/$10) WRITE IT RIGHT! Fiction Any Genre, Subject: Write about a small town reporter covering the local moonshine festival in a Dry County. 500 words.Chair: Penpoint Writers Group

20. South Arkansas Poets of the Pines Poetry Contest.  ($25/$15/$10) Subject: STORMS.  Any form. 16 lines,  Chair: South Arkansas Poets of the Pines



21. Henry & Betty Heidelberger Memorial Poetry Award. ($25/$15/$10) Subject: Farm to Table Family Farms, Any form, 32 lines. Chair: Brenda Iannacone

22. Dorothy Truex Memorial Prose Award. ($25/$15/$10) Romance Short Story. An Interest in Dance must bring the couple Together. 2000 words. Chair: Ellen Withers

23. Peggy Vining Memorial Essay Award. ($25/$15/$10) Subject: Favorite Subject in High School.  Give a detailed description of why you enjoyed learning about it.  1000 word max. Chair: Pioneer Branch NLAPW



24. Dusty Richards Memorial Prose Award. ($25/$15/$10} Western Short Story with a limit of 2500 word max. Chair: Ellen Withers



AWC Director: Brenda Iannacone

Email: breannacone1@yahoo.com

Phone: (501) 833-2756